EU Council confirms agreement on visa liberalisation for Ukrainians

On 2 March EU ambassadors confirmed the informal agreement reached on 28 February 2017 between the Maltese Presidency and the European Parliament on visa liberalisation for Ukrainians. The regulation will now be submitted to the European Parliament for first reading, and subsequently to the Council for adoption.

“We have demonstrated our strong commitment to visa-free travel for Ukrainian citizens, now that Ukraine has met the necessary conditions for a visa-free regime. The reform of the suspension mechanism adopted on 27 February enabled us to finalise this agreement,” said Carmelo Abela, Maltese Minister for Home Affairs and National Security.

The agreement permits visa-free travel for Ukrainian citizens when travelling to the EU for a period of stay of 90 days in any 180-day period.